Just the Bemusual

Damn traffic!

Here’s another gratuitous shot of an amusing sight I saw during my ride to work just to make my non-KAF readers envious of my spectacular working environment. What are a few rocket attacks, dust storms, DFAC food and disgusting bathrooms when you get to see shit like this? Ok, all those things still suck but ya gotta admit this is a pretty cool photo, particularly when one considers that I was down shifting as I took it. Anyway, I spent much of the last few days being bemused.

Bankers’ Hours

Update: The Kabul Bank was once again closed at 3:20 pm today despite rumours that it had been open sometime yesterday and the somewhat misleading “Bank is Now Open” sign. I hate them.

The More Things Change…

It’s like I’m at Six Flags!

As I’ve reported before, back in early 2010 General McChrystal ordered the closure of Burger King, Pizza Hut and Subway because ““This is a war zone — not an amusement park” according to his Command Sgt Maj. Hot Damn! Now that all three are back I guess the war is over and it’s only a matter of time until the first roller coaster arrives. It appears that the Yanks are constructing a little mini-boardwalk right near the projects. That’s where the Pizza Hut and Burger King are going along with a Popeye’s Fried Chicken. The Subway is now open over in the USAF compound but only US military and contractors can use it. Sure, we let ’em drink Double Doubles for 5 years but I can’t get one measly Cold Cut Combo. I’d love to ask General McChrystal what he thinks of all this but I don’t think he’s doing interviews anymore.

I Prefer the Taste of Blue

Are you sure it’s not juice flavour?

So, we’re at Independence Hall last night and I just have to take a picture of the sign on the drink dispenser. The DFAC guy refilling a couple of the other containers looks at me quizzically as I aim the IPod. I smile and remark, “I love the sign but I’m not really sure what red tastes like” . “It’s mixed flavour, sir” he responds in all seriousness. I shoulda expected that.

Bottom Line

Does that festive touch seem a bit incongruous to you too?

I started with an amusing picture so I’ll end with a bemusing one.

“We are so bemused by our own petard, that we are unable to look at things objectively.” – Julia Child

One thought on “Just the Bemusual

Leave a Reply

