Who Are You? Who Who, Who Who

Back in February of this year, WordPress.com started providing info about where the people who visit blogs are from. This got me thinking, “Who are all these people that read my posts?” Since 25 Feb 2012, I’ve had visitors from 63 different countries* (or at least visitors who access the web through servers in 63  different countries) Listed in descending order by number of page views:

United States
Canada
Australia
United Kingdom
Philippines
Afghanistan
South Africa
Netherlands
Germany
Guam
Bosnia and Herzegovina
India
Luxembourg
Thailand
Belgium
Romania
Denmark
Kenya
Pakistan
Malaysia
Hungary
Croatia
Italy
United Arab Emirates
Hong Kong
Singapore
Sweden
Turkey
Mexico
Burkina Faso
Suriname
Venezuela
Russian Federation
Argentina
Slovenia
Ireland
Albania
Saudi Arabia
Czech Republic
Israel
Switzerland
Greece
Cambodia
Ecuador
Qatar
Nigeria
New Zealand
Colombia
Iceland
Austria
Finland
Brazil
Kuwait
Indonesia
Norway
Taiwan
Malta
Tunisia
Latvia
Bahrain
Monaco
Bangladesh

“Burkino Faso? Venezuela? Monaco? Why the hell do these folks want to read the foul-mouthed rants of a grumpy contractor in Afghanistan?“, I wondered.

Most of you lazy bastards, my dear readers, can’t even be arsed have chosen not to leave a comment so I’m putting this poll up to find out who you are and how you ended up here.

Over the first week of a post being published, I’m getting around 200-300 people reading it. That’s pretty cool but I don’t really get how people are finding out about it. Sure, I “share” it on Facebook and Twitter so my wife has to read it as do many of my friends if they ever want me to help them move or pick them up at the airport. But how do people in fucking Suriname find out about it? So, another poll:

Bottom Line

Just answer the damn polls. If you have any suggestions for topics or want to tell me I cuss too much, leave a comment or send me an email via the contact page.

“A lot of my audience are in their 50s. But they want me to pretend to continue to be pretending.” – Pete Townshend

*I shamelessly stole the idea of listing the countries of blog visitors from the site of another blogger in Afghanistan. If you want a more informative, less foul-mouthed but still entertaining blog about life supporting NATO in this shithole, you oughta visit Dan’s blog. He actually goes “outside the wire” so has more to write about than DFACs and toilets (although he’s got a good toilet post). My mom probably likes his blog better than mine because he doesn’t use the word “fuck” even once.

15 thoughts on “Who Are You? Who Who, Who Who

  1. I like the idea of the poll thing. Let me know how it works out so I can decide if I should the time trying to build one. Also, if you find out who logged in from Burkino Faso, please tell them to click on mine because I don’t even know where that is, but it has to be a cool place with a name like that. By the way, I swear way too much in real life, the blog allows me to pretend I have a more proper vocabulary, so I won’t be saying ‘fuck’ in my blog, even if it means box761 likes you more…

  2. dan has really cool photographs. i love the ones of the innovative cargo handling/loading techniques of the local afghani. (oorah! go seabees!)

  3. Pingback: Another look at the Stats « Nine & a Half Hours Ahead

Leave a Reply

