Good Gravy Man, Pull Yourself Together!

I give up.

My experience in the steam line at the Lux tonight:
Me:”Roast beef, please”.
1st serving guy puts roast beef on my plate. Cool.
I hand my plate to the 2nd serving guy.
Me: “Corn please”
2nd serving guy puts corn on my plate. Two for two. Awesome.
Me:”And some gravy on the beef, please”.
2nd serving guy starts to scoop up some Brussels sprouts.
Me:”No Brussels sprouts, just some gravy on the beef please”
2nd serving guy looks at me and starts to scoop up Brussels sprouts again.
Me (pointing at the gravy):”No, just some gravy on the beef, please”.
2nd serving guy(in soto voce with a hint of confusion):“Gravy?”
Me:”Yes, some gravy on the beef please”.
2nd serving guy proceeds to dump gravy onto my corn.
Me:”Thanks”

One thought on “Good Gravy Man, Pull Yourself Together!

  1. Next time you should try the simplified English/colors technique.

    Example: ”Roast beef, please”. S/B ”Brown stuff, please”.
    “Corn please”. S/B “Yellow stuff, please”.
    ”And some gravy on the beef, please”. S/B And some grey soup on the brown
    stuff please”.
    ”No Brussels sprouts, just some gravy on the beef please” S/B ”No green balls, just
    some grey soup on the brown stuff please” Et Cetera…

    It works for me. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

